Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Two RSC Representatives win Re-election

By Tom Kleckner

Two members of SPP’s Regional State Committee (RSC), Republican utility commissioners Randy Christmann of North Dakota and Kristie Fiegen of South Dakota, won re-election to their seats Tuesday night.

Christmann is the projected winner against Democratic challenger Jeannie Brandt. With 95% of the precincts reporting, Christmann had 61.3% of the vote to Brandt’s 38.5%.

Regional State Committee

Kristie Fiegen | S.D. Public Utilities Commission

In South Dakota, Fiegen nearly doubled Democrat Wayne Frederick’s vote total, 65.5% to 34.5%.

New Mexico’s Patrick Lyons, who is cycling off the RSC, was less fortunate. The Republican lost his bid to return to the State Land Office against Democratic newcomer Stephanie Garcia Richard, 50.8% to 43.5%.

Lyons was term-limited from New Mexico’s Public Regulation Commission. He served two previous terms as the state land commissioner, considered to be one of the most powerful elected positions in New Mexico.

Regional State Committee

Patrick Lyons attends his last RSC meeting Oct. 29, with North Dakota’s Randy Christmann to his left. | © RTO Insider

Elsewhere, Bob Anthony was elected to a sixth and final term on the Oklahoma Corporation Commission. The Republican garnered 60% of the vote against Democratic challenger Ashley Nicole McCray to hold on to a seat he has held since 1989.

OCC Chair Dana Murphy, who earlier this year lost her own bid for lieutenant governor, is the commission’s representative on the RSC.